Skip to content

Send in your nominations!

Each year at the Politicologenetmaal, the Els Witte prize for the best Ph.D. Dissertation and the Daniel Heinsius prize for the best Master Thesis are awarded. Submit Ph.D. dissertations and master theses before March 1. Self-nominations are welcome.

Daniel Heinsius Prize

Every master thesis submitted in 2023 that obtained a score of at least 8 (The Netherlands) or 16 (Belgium) is eligible for the Daniel Heinsius thesis prize. Submissions, including the thesis itself and proof of the score obtained, can be sent to Benjamin Blanckaert;

Deadline: March 1

Els Witte Prize

Ph.D. dissertations in political science (and related disciplines) defended in 2023 at a Belgian/Dutch university or elsewhere but related to Dutch or Belgian politics are eligible for the Els Witte Annual Prize for Political Science 2024. Please send a digital copy of the nominated dissertation together with the Nomination Form to the secretary of the jury (

Deadline: March 1