Skip to content

Looking Back

We look back at a great 2023 edition of the Politicologenetmaal (Annual Political Science Workshops of the Low Countries) held June 1-2, 2023 at KU Leuven. Under the auspices of local hosts Amélie Godefroidt, Dieter Stiers, Wouter Wolfs and Silke Goubin, more than 200 scholars participated in 15 workshops on a variety of topics. With participants from more than 15 countries and 40 universities, it was also one of the most diverse editions ever. The respective workshop chairs did their utmost to bring the open and constructive spirit of "the Etmaal" to their workshops. Thanks to all of them and thanks to you!

We organized a hands-on and interactive panel debate on "The Role of Social Scientists in Today's Society" with Dounia Bourabain, Peter van Aelst, and Sarah de Lange. The discussion was moderated by Amélie Godefroidt.


Agnes Termeer was awarded the 2022 Daniël Heinsius Master's Thesis Prize. The 2022 Els de Witte PhD Prize went to Dr. Charlotte de Roon. Read the reports below. And a new award, the PolEtmaal Achievement Award, was presented to Peter Castenmiller and Herwig Reynaert. Congratulations to all!

The 2024 Politicologenetmaal is hosted by Maastricht University. The Politicologenetmaal is organized in collaboration with the Flemish Vereniging voor Politieke Wetenschappen (VPW) and the Dutch Nederlandse Kring voor de Wetenschap der Politiek (NKPW). The Etmaal is financially supported by Universiteitsfonds Limburg/SWOL and the EU's Jean Monnet program.


Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the European Education and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA). Neither the European Union nor EACEA can be held responsible for them.

low countries